MyInfo Almanac

by WallaDB for Guest

Log In
New User

developed countries

This is the top group in the hierarchy of developed countries (DCs), former USSR/Eastern Europe (former USSR/EE), and less developed countries (LDCs). It includes the market-oriented economies of the mainly democratic nations in the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), Bermuda, Israel, South Africa, and the European microstates.

Other names are First World, high-income countries, the North, and industrial countries. They generally have a per capita GDP in excess of $15,000 although four OECD countries and South Africa have figures well under $15,000 and eight of the excluded OPEC countries have figures of more than $20,000.

This is similar to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) term "advanced economies" that includes Hong Kong, South Korea, Singapore, and Taiwan, but excludes Malta, Mexico, South Africa, and Turkey.

Membership Structure


© 2021 WallaDB Company