MyInfo Almanac

by WallaDB for Guest

Log In
New User

Republic of South Africa

South Africa flag

South Africa is in Africa. Its capital is Bloemfontein. It is at 29° 00' South, 24° 00' East. South Africa has an area of 1,219,912 square kilometres (471,010 square miles). The population is 49,004,031. This population is from a 2011 estimate.

Buy Books @
ITMB South Africa Travel Reference Map 1:1.5MCDNUSAUK
ITMB Southern Africa Travel Reference MapCDNUSAUK
Lonely Planet AfricaCDNUSAUK
Lonely Planet D&S South Africa 1CDNUSAUK
Lonely Planet South Africa Lesotho & Swaziland 6CDNUSAUK
Lonely Planet Southern AfricaCDNUSAUK


For currency they use the South Africa Rand. The inflation in 2009 was 7.2%. The economy link (above) goes to a page that lists their commodities and trading partners.


Pretoria is the administrative capital. Cape Town is the legislative capital. Bloemfontein is the judiciary capital.


In the year 2003, the literacy rate was 86.4%. This definition of literacy is portion of the population over 15 years of age, that can read and write.


People here speak Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Pedi, Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, and Zulu. Religions beliefs here include Anglican, Christian, Dutch Reformed, Methodist, Muslim, other, Pentecostal, Roman Catholic, and Zionist Christian.

Time Zone

It is in the Southern Africa (GMT + 2) time zone.

Administrative Divisions


© 2021 WallaDB Company